About the Chicago Sun-Times

About Us

Winner of eight Pulitzer Prizes, the Chicago Sun-Times was founded in 1948 through a merger of the Chicago Sun and the Daily Times. It’s known for hard-hitting investigative reporting, in-depth political coverage, timely behind-the-scenes sports analysis and insightful entertainment and cultural coverage.  In 2022, it became part of the Chicago Public Media family of companies and now operates as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. You can download our latest financial report here.

Contact Us | Work With Us | Advertise With Us

Board of Directors

Matt Moog, Chicago Public Media

Adrienne King, Bain & Company

Lerry Knox, Sovereign Infrastructure Group

Kristen Mack, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation 

Aretae Ortiz Wyler, The Atlantic


We are committed to diversity in the way we structure our daily news report and in the staffing of our newsroom — realizing that we, like other newsrooms, need to improve on staffing to reflect the diversity of the region we cover. In terms of racial and ethnic identity, our newsroom is 65% white, 14% Black, 14% Hispanic and 7% percent Asian. Our news staff is 63% male and 37% female. Read our newsroom diversity report here.


  • Executive Editor: Jennifer Kho
  • Chief Product Officer: Matt Watson
  • Managing Editor, News: Dave Newbart
  • Editorial Director, Strategy and Operations: Kaitlyn Jakola
  • Deputy Managing Editor, Enterprise and Investigations: Paul Saltzman
  • Deputy Managing Editor, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion/Administration and Planning: Norman Parish
  • Director of Newsroom Culture and Community Engagement/Columnist: Mary Mitchell
  • Senior Director, Audience: Angela Massino

Editorial Board




Politics & Government

Public Safety & Justice

Race, Class & Communities


Staff Columnists



  • Head of Print Production: Joel Carlson
  • Page One Design Editor: Bryan Barker
  • Assistant News and Design Editor: Eric White
  • News Copy Editor: Jeffrey Britt
  • Sports Page Design Editors: Matt Corradino, Rob Hollingsworth, Akiko Spencer
  • Sports Copy Editors: Bob Mazzoni, Humberto Perez
  • Page Design Editors: Dennis Sabo, John Silver
  • News Page Design Editor: Rich Zamudio, Kacie Trimble